Raising our Children to Strive for Greatness like MLK

Today is Martin Luther King Day.  My husband has always considered Dr. King one of his heroes, and admired all that he did for our country.  I didn’t know this about him until our first year of marriage.  First thing in the morning on Martin Luther King Day, my husband emerged from the home office with a book and began reciting, in full theatrical mode, the “I Have a Dream” speech.  After being momentarily perplexed, I listened.  Although I had heard it many times before, to hear it in this manner definitely gave it a different perspective.

After my husband’s presentation, we discussed Martin Luther King, Jr. and his thoughts on how King impacted our nation.  Although I had always admired the man and what he stood for, I had an even better appreciation for him after adding my husband’s insights as well.  Each year since then, we laugh about my husband’s annual oratory, but all of us listen and inevitably a good discussion ensues.

Today as I anticipate my husband’s presentation, I think about Dr. King and the true impact he made on our society.  His life was short by today’s measures of time, but the difference he made was equivalent to those twice his age.  I also think about how I can truly make a difference in this world, and how I can instill in my children the desire to do so as well.

As a parent, I feel if I can raise happy, healthy, moral children that have strong values, treat others well, and strive to do good things in this world, then I will be a success.

On Twitter this morning, I read a tweet from Education.com that had a link to ideas of things to do with children to help celebrate the life of Martin Luther King, Jr..  I invite you to take a look at them  http://bit.ly/gvlgIt .  Who knows, maybe you are raising a son or daughter that will one day make as much of an impact on our world as Dr. King.

Leave a comment

Filed under Parenting, Something to think about

Leave a Reply

